Thanks to the internet for the solution (an no thanks — for the virus), I found a way to remove the csrcs.exe error window at start-up.

The Problem: I scanned my computer using an Anti-virus free edition from the internet. I found several viruses and tried to move them to chest, it was not possible so I deleted them (I want the virus gone right?). Since then, I get this very irritating pop-up sound and csrcs.exe pop-up window every time I start-up my computer.

The solution: Modify the Registry

Before anything else, make a Restore Point so in case you mess up the registry, you have backup to restore

How to make a restore point:

1) Go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools >System Restore
2) Choose Create a Restore Point
3) Follow instructions and close window when done

On to modifying the registry:

1) Go to the registry by clicking on Run from Start-Up, and type”regedit”
2) Go to this path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\3) On the right panel, look for the key named “Shell”, it may have a value of “explorer.exe csrcs.exe”.
4) Right click and “Modify”, Remove csrcs.exe but NOT explorer.exe. Retain explorer.exe only
5) Restart your PC

You should be good to go! 🙂

DISCLAIMER: The solution worked well for me, I just restarted my PC, the error window totally gone. If by some techy rule there is more to it than modifying the registry, that I am not liable okay 🙂

Web sources from google: wikihow and techsalsa

