Son of a Beach
Our itinerary on our second day is an overnight trip to Guimaras. A 15-minute boat ride from the port will take you to the Fisherman’s wharf and another 45-minute multi-cab or jeepney ride will take you to Sitio Valencia, Alubihod, where Raymen’s Beach Resort is located.
We were having second thoughts pushing through to Guimaras since weather was weird. But since it was already sunny by 10am, we decided to continue and just make the most out of this trip since we were already in Iloilo anyways.
After an hour of travel from the city, we reached our destination: Raymen’s Beach Resort. Raymen‘s, as I was told was the only air-conditioned resort in that beach strip.
In summary
The Bad
I was surprised that the beach was just a small strip, probably a 1-minute run.
Big Waves along the sea shore – Good for wake boarding probably but not for those who want to swim in calm water
No commercialized restaurants and establishments
Money making –  We upgraded our room to the one with hot water and TV. We paid additional Php 900 for this. 900 for a TV with 2 blurry channels, hot water and use of additional charge for use of previous room. Damn!!
Lack of customer service – it doesn’t even exist. Just get in and pay. No consideration or whatsoever. I don think they could care less how to make your life comfortable and relaxed.
And the Good
Fine Sand
Good Food
The whole story
The first thing that caught my attention: No TV. Dang! Then I checked the comfort room — Toilet has this brown stain. Our dear friend Olan who was with us gladly took our room so I can get his. His comfort room is better but the pail and “tabo” was broken and dirty. It looked liked a pail from a construction site. Literally, not OA. I asked for it to be replaced.
I didn’t want to spend additional Php 600 just for a TV so I was persuaded by the hubby that we are not going to stay in the room that much anyways. I was initially persuaded. Until I saw the beach.
Big waves on the shore line
Beach strip as short as two blocks
No other existing establishments or restaurants
How can I stay in the beach for long? I am not a swimmer nor a sand loving person. I just want to go to the beach for awhile, relax under the shade of a tree or umbrella. But it’s impossible to do that since there were no trees near the shore line nor big umbrellas or tanning seats.
I decided to just take a shower and deal with the activities later.
Surprise! There was no hot water.
Just to brief you — only in very rare occasions do I take a bath in cold water. 98% of my life, I use hot water for bathing. Di ko kaya ang cold water. And if ever there’s only cold water, I won’t be able to enjoy bathing. Cold baths make me want to just get it over and done with. Madalian to the max coz I really don’t like cold water.
So yes, muryot na talaga ako at this time. This is such a curse. Stuck in this little beach island with nothing to do.
The husband seeing me frustrated and all, decided to just upgrade our room so I can get the amenities that I want.
If only I knew he paid Php900 (Php 600 for the upgrade (difference of old and new room rate) and Php 300 for the use of the old room), I wouldn’t have agreed! Sa Php600 nga ayaw ko eh, sa Php900 pa! I didn’t want to pay because I find it expensive. The price is not reasonable. Imagine getting a room in the city (Iloilo city) with all the amenities you need for comfort and relaxation under Php1,000. City na un ah! Here, you get just a room with no TV and no hot water, no ref, room not even automated with card lock, and it’s Php1,100.
Okay lang sana if yeah, it’s a resort so it should be more expensive than city hotels, pero it’s a resort with no nothing eh.
What irked me more? 2 lang ang channel ng TV! Blurry pa! Puch. Kakainis tlga!
They could have informed us or something. Sympre I had the notion na since it’s a resort and they have a TV-room rate different from the one without TV, it should have decent clear channels. I don’t know if I am just picky, but really for a rate of Php1,700 sa liblib na province, I should be getting comfort and relaxation. (At Bora you can get, Php2,500 inclusive of 2 breakfasts, air-conditioned room, safe lock, hot shower, station 2 near d‘mall.. And Bora un ah)
And as if it’s peak season, tlgang may charge pa un pag-gamit naming nun old room.
Money making tlga. They have no customer appreciation at all. They do say thank you but they don’t go out of the way to talk to their customers or make them feel at home, etc.
When I left the resort, I whispered my goodbye. Forever. Because never in a million years will I go back.
I was just happy to go. We were 4 hours early on the airport. O dba? Hindi naman kami masyado excited umuwi. LOL
To damuhos Olan, Rikki, Iyah, Miecel and Eric (and Dennis?), thank you for the wonderful thought of giving us an out of town trip. Although it wasn’t as fun as we all ant it to be, it’s the thought that really matters. And I have to admit we probably gained 10lbs because of all the good food we ate.
P.S.
I feel sorry for writing a bad review on the place, but that’s what it is. It just wasn’t’ for me.

The second part of our Iloilo trip: Guimaras. To check our city trip, click here

Boat ride to GuimarasOur itinerary on our second day at Iloilo is an overnight trip to Guimaras. A 15-minute boat ride from the port will take you to the Fisherman’s wharf and another 45-minute multi-cab or jeepney ride will take you to Sitio Valencia, Alubihod, where Raymen’s Beach Resort is located.

We were having second thoughts pushing through to Guimaras since weather was weird. But when the sun started to shine around 10am, we decided to continue and just make the most out of this trip. We were already in Iloilo anyways.

After an hour of travel from the city, we reached our destination: Raymen’s Beach Resort. Raymen‘s, as I was told is the only air-conditioned resort in that beach strip.


In summary

The Bad

  • I was surprised that the beach was just a small strip, probably a 1-minute run.
  • Big Waves along the sea shore – Good for wake boarding probably but not for those who want to swim in calm water
  • No commercialized restaurants and establishments
  • Money making –  We upgraded our room to the one with hot water and TV. We paid additional Php 900 for this. 900 for a TV with 2 blurry channels, hot water and use of additional charge for use of previous room. Damn!!
  • Lack of customer service – it doesn’t even exist. Just get in and pay. No consideration or whatsoever. I don think they could care less how to make your life comfortable and relaxed.

And the Good

  • Fine Sand
  • Good Food

Guimaras Capitol

Raymen Entrance Signange

The Whole Story

The first thing that caught my attention: No TV. Dang! Then I checked the comfort room — Toilet has this brown stain. Our dear friend Olan who was with us gladly took our room so we  can get his. His comfort room is better but the pail and “tabo” was broken and dirty. It looked liked a pail from a construction site. Literally, not OA. I asked for it to be replaced.

I didn’t want to spend additional Php 600 just for a TV so I was persuaded by the hubby that we are not going to stay in the room that much anyways. I was initially persuaded. Until I saw the beach.

Big waves on the shore line.

Beach strip as short as two blocks.

No other existing establishments or restaurants.

How can I stay in the beach for long? I am not a swimmer nor a sand loving person. I just want to go to the beach for awhile, relax under the shade of a tree or umbrella. But it’s impossible to do that since there were no trees near the shore line nor big umbrellas or tanning seats. Plus, the weather was not beach friendly, it was drizzling most of the time.

I decided to just take a shower and deal with the activities later.

Surprise! There was no hot water.

Just to brief you — only in very rare occasions do I take a bath in cold water. 98% of my life, I use hot water for bathing. Di ko kaya ang cold water. And if ever there’s only cold water, I won’t be able to enjoy bathing. Cold baths make me want to just get it over and done with. Madalian to the max coz I really don’t like cold water.

So yes, muryot na talaga ako at this time. This is such a curse. Stuck in this little beach island with nothing to do.

The husband seeing me frustrated and all, decided to just upgrade our room so I can get the amenities that I want.

If only I knew he paid Php900 (Php 600 for the upgrade (difference of old and new room rate) and Php 300 for the use of the old room), I wouldn’t have agreed! Sa Php600 nga ayaw ko eh, sa Php900 pa! I didn’t want to pay because I find it expensive. The price is not reasonable. Imagine getting a room in the city (Iloilo city) with all the amenities you need for comfort and relaxation under Php1,000. City na un ah! Here, you get just a room with no TV and no hot water, no ref, room not even automated with card lock, and it’s Php1,100.

If you look at it, Php1k is just 1k fine, but for the amenities I get, so not worth it. Okay lang sana if yeah, it’s a resort so it should be more expensive than city hotels, pero it’s a resort with no nothing eh.

What irked me more? 2 lang ang channel ng TV! Blurry pa! Puch. Kakainis tlga!

They could have informed us or something. Sympre I had the notion na since it’s a resort and they have a TV-room rate different from the one without TV, it should have decent clear channels. I don’t know if I am just picky, but really for a rate of Php1,700 sa liblib na province, I should be getting comfort and relaxation. (At Bora you can get, Php2,500 inclusive of 2 breakfasts, air-conditioned room, safe lock, hot shower, station 2 near d‘mall.. And Bora un ah)

And as if it’s peak season, tlgang may charge pa un pag-gamit naming nun old room.

They have no customer appreciation at all. They do say thank you but they don’t go out of the way to talk to their customers or make them feel at home, etc.

When I left the resort, I whispered my goodbye. Forever. Because never in a million years will I go back.

I was just happy to go. We were 4 hours early on the airport. O dba? Hindi naman kami masyado excited umuwi. LOL

To damuhos Olan, Rikki, Iyah, Miecel and Eric (and Dennis?), thank you for the wonderful thought of giving us an out of town trip. Although it wasn’t as fun as we all ant it to be, it’s the thought that really matters. And I have to admit we probably gained 10lbs because of all the good food we ate.

P.S.

I feel sorry for writing a bad review on the place, but that’s what it is. It just wasn’t’ for me.

** More pics to follow