I’ve heard numerous raves about Estrel’s caramel cake and the day has finally come to taste the infamous delectable sweet.

estrels

I was like a kid, excited to take her first bite on a much awaited cake. And how well did it go? Nothing extraordinary. No fireworks as what I expected. I thought, this must be another overrated cake. But then as I started tasting the soft caramel with the melt in your mouth chiffon… wow, this is something! The caramel, for some reason isn’t that sweet, yet it is heavenly. It’s like a smooth yema without the sugar overload. The chiffon is like a soft mamon (and I’m a fan of that). Just thinking about it makes me crave for it again. Good thing I still have half of the cake when I get home (as I’m practically just the one eating it, and of course Sachi. Yum!) 🙂

the-caramel-cake

And just a personal preference, I like it better cold. Coz if not, I feel like I’m really just eating mamon. hehe. The temperature can make the flowers hard, but I find it tastier that way. The cake’s shelf life is just 24 hours, best consumed until the following day (that made me cringe coz I wanted it to last for at least 5 days. I don’t want to eat them all in 24 hours!) But the sales assistant said that it can last up to 3 days if placed in the refrigerator.

ready-to-eat

My final say: It’s not your ordinary cake that shouts I’m-a-cake-and-I’m-so-sweet. This is the kind of cake that will make you eat endlessly, as you feel guilt-free that you’re not eating sweets at all, yet you know it’s honest to goodness caramel cake.

Estrel’s Caramel Cake
54 Scout Tobias St., cor Scout Limbaga Bgy Laging Handa, QC.
Tel No: 372-2965; 3717938
Shop hours: Mon – Sat: 8:30am to 7:00pm / Sunday 8:30am to 5:00pm

Call the store to order as they only produce limited quantity everyday. It’s just my luck that when I called, there was still one left, so I had it reserved immediately! 🙂 The 8-inch round cake cost Php550. Not bad for a yummy caramel cake!

